What To Eat Before A Workout

Exciting news! Plated is going to be publishing some of my food recipes and roundups on their blog and vice versa. Plated is a company that makes cooking fun and convenient. The Plated chefs choose seven meals for the week and they send you all of the ingredients and recipes so that you can make the meals at home. (Take a look at the menu to learn what you can start making.) This article was very relevant because I often wonder what to eat before working out.

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 3.11.47 PM

When you get into one of those stretches where you’re hitting the gym consistently, you want to make sure you’re getting the most out of it. What you eat before your workout is key. So, we’ve compiled a list of foods with the optimal amounts of protein, carbs, and good fats to for fueling up. (They’re even downright palate-pleasing.)

Snack on one of these, wait 30 to 45 minutes, then go get your sweat on.

Apples (Plus Peanut Butter): Apples give you good natural sugars, while the peanut butter provides protein and unsaturated fats—AKA “good fats.”

Bananas: Bananas are loaded with digestible carbohydrates as well as potassium, which aids in muscle function.

Oats: Oats contain B vitamins, which help convert carbs into energy, and fiber, which keeps that energy at consistent levels during your workout.

Whole Grain Bread: A slice of whole grain bread is another good source of carbohydrates. Top it with a hard-boiled egg or couple slices of turkey for a protein boost.

Fruit Smoothies: Aside from being flat-out tasty, these smoothies are a great way to pack a lot of healthy fruit into a single glass. They’re high in both carbs and protein, which prevent muscle damage.

 Read other great Plated blog posts and follow along on Facebook

Share this post:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInshare on TumblrGoogle+Buffer this pageShare on StumbleUponEmail to someonePrint this page

Book Review: Seating Arrangements, Thrive, and Not That Kind of Girl

Here are three books I’ve read recently.

Unknown-1

Overview:  “In Thrive, Arianna Huffington makes an impassioned and compelling case for the need to redefine what it means to be successful in today’s world. Arianna Huffington’s personal wake-up call came in the form of a broken cheekbone and a nasty gash over her eye — the result of a fall brought on by exhaustion and lack of sleep. As the cofounder and editor-in-chief of the Huffington Post Media Group — one of the fastest growing media companies in the world — celebrated as one of the world’s most influential women, and gracing the covers of magazines, she was, by any traditional measure, extraordinarily successful. Yet as she found herself going from brain MRI to CAT scan to echocardiogram, to find out if there was any underlying medical problem beyond exhaustion, she wondered is this really what success feels like? As more and more people are coming to realize, there is far more to living a truly successful life than just earning a bigger salary and capturing a corner office. Our relentless pursuit of the two traditional metrics of success — money and power — has led to an epidemic of burnout and stress-related illnesses, and an erosion in the quality of our relationships, family life, and, ironically, our careers. In being connected to the world 24/7, we’re losing our connection to what truly matters. Our current definition of success is, as Thrive shows, literally killing us. We need a new way forward (Amazon).”

My Review: We read this book for book club at work. Arianna discussed what she’s learned though out her personal and professional life. She discussed that our society defines success as money and power but that there should be another factor. The Third Metric is made up of well-being, wisdom, wonder, and giving. Arianna tells her personal anecdotes and friends’ stories about The Third Metric and why it is important. Arianna had the ability to interview and talk with a wide array of people so it was interesting to hear their stories and opinions. 

Here is the graduation speech that inspires a lot of the book:

Unknown

Overview: For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise, and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham—the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls—as one of the most original young talents writing today. In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told. “Take My Virginity (No Really, Take It)” is the account of Dunham’s first time, and how her expectations of sex didn’t quite live up to the actual event (“No floodgate had been opened, no vault of true womanhood unlocked”); “Girls & Jerks” explores her former attraction to less-than-nice guys—guys who had perfected the “dynamic of disrespect” she found so intriguing; “Is This Even Real?” is a meditation on her lifelong obsession with death and dying—what she calls her “genetically predestined morbidity.” And in “I Didn’t F*** Them, but They Yelled at Me,” she imagines the tell-all she will write when she is eighty and past caring, able to reflect honestly on the sexism and condescension she has encountered in Hollywood, where women are “treated like the paper thingies that protect glasses in hotel bathrooms—necessary but infinitely disposable.” Exuberant, moving, and keenly observed, Not That Kind of Girl is a series of dispatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. “I’m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you,” Dunham writes. “But if I can take what I’ve learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile.”

My Review: I enjoyed this book. It was interesting to learn about Lena’s life. She is, unsurprisingly, very candid and willing to be vulnerable. I would recommend it to friends. Here is a great NYTimes profile of Lena.

seating-arrangements

Overview: “The Van Meters have gathered at their family retreat on the island of Waskeke to celebrate the marriage of daughter Daphne to the impeccably appropriate Greyson Duff. The weekend is full of champagne, salt air and practiced bonhomie, but long-buried discontent and simmering lust stir beneath the surface. Winn Van Meter, father of the bride, is not having a good time. Barred from the exclusive social club he’s been eyeing since birth, he’s also tormented by an inappropriate crush on Daphne’s beguiling bridesmaid, Agatha, and the fear that his daughter, Livia—recently heartbroken by the son of his greatest rival—is a too-ready target for the wiles of Greyson’s best man. When old resentments, a beached whale and an escaped lobster are added to the mix, the wedding that should have gone off with military precision threatens to become a spectacle of misbehavior (Amazon).”

My Review: I enjoyed this book. It was a really interesting glimpse at an elite family and the secrets and imperfections that hide behind the gates. The book was extremely well written and I felt connected to the characters. The book was funny, poignant, and suspenseful. If you liked The Darlings, you’d like this book!

Share this post:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInshare on TumblrGoogle+Buffer this pageShare on StumbleUponEmail to someonePrint this page